Super Swede Bass

A Classic Reborn

Hagstrom Super Swede Bass

Un des derniers projets de Hagstrom avant l’arrêt de la production suédoise a été la collaboration entre son principal concepteur de guitare, Per-Åke Olsson, et Rutger Gunnarsson, bassiste du groupe suédois ABBA, pour créer la basse Super Swede que Rutger a utilisée durant la dernière tournée nord-américaine d’ABBA en 1979. Seules 364 basses ont été mises sur le marché avant que Hagstrom ne cesse de produire des guitares en Suède. Celles-ci sont devenues des instruments de collection très convoités.

La basse Super Swede originale de Hagstrom avait un manche traversant, une caractéristique généralement réservée aux guitares basses haut de gamme, fabriquées à la main. Les basses à manche traversant offrent un accès facile aux cases les plus hautes car il n’y a pas besoin de talon pour renforcer la jonction manche/corps. De plus, elles ont aussi souvent plus de sustain que les instruments à manche collé ou vissé.

Basse Super Swede est une recréation authentique

Notre nouvelle basse Super Swede est une recréation authentique de ce modèle historique de 1980. La touche en Resinator® accentue le sustain du manche traversant et contribue à l’attaque bien définie de l’instrument.  Les cordes sont maintenues par des pontets individuels ancrés directement dans la structure massive du manche et contribuant à un long sustain de piano.

La basse Super Swede inaugure les nouveaux humbuckers J-Quad à quadruple bobinage de Hagstrom. Pour rendre hommage à cet instrument historique, nous l’avons équipé de nos micros dernière génération. Les J-Quads sont à la fois extrêmement silencieux et restituent à merveille le spectre sonore complet en accentuant légèrement les mids et les graves quand il faut que ça gronde un peu plus.

Colors

Black Gloss
Black Gloss
Tobacco Sunburst
Tobacco Sunburst
Natural Mahogany
Natural Mahogany
Hagstrom Super Swede Bass Black Gloss
Black Gloss
Hagstrom Super Swede Bass Tobacco Sunburst
Tobacco Sunburst
Hagstrom Super Swede Bass Natural Mahogany
Natural Mahogany
 
Hagstrom fleur de lis

Rutger Gunnarsson, bassiste d’ABBA, a collaboré avec Hagstrom pour concevoir la basse Super Swede. Il a utilisé cette basse lors de la tournée américaine d’ABBA en 1980.

Super Swede Bass Specs

Corps

  • Double pan coupé – Conception originale de la basse Super Swede de 1980
  • Matériau: intégralement en acajou

Manche

  • Matériau: Acajou, traversant
  • Barre de réglage: H-Expander™
  • Profil en «D» accentué
  • Binding à 1 pli

Touche/Sillet

  • Matériau: Resinator™
  • Incrustation: rectangulaires Pearloid
  • Frettes: 20, medium jumbo
  • Diaspon: 34" (864 mm)
  • Sillet de tête: GraphTech Black Tusq XL
  • Largeur au sillet: 40 mm

Électronique

  • Micros: 2 x humbuckers à quadruple bobinage J-Quad Hagstrom
  • Commande: 2 x volume / 1 x tonalité
  • Boutons chrome

Parts

  • Chevalet: Pontets individuels réglables Hagstrom
  • Mécaniques: Hagstrom en chrome, 22:1
  • Cords: D'Addario (55 - 105)

Étui en option

  • Étui rigide: B-70
  • Housse: B-40

Super Swede Bass Standards

Guitar Tuning Peg

Machine Heads - FR

 

Mécaniques

Les mécaniques Hagstrom rappellent les pièces originales des années 1960 mais sont pourvues d’ailes plus petites et plus confortables à utiliser. La démultiplication 18:1 garantit un accordage exact en toutes circonstances.

H-Expander

 

Hagstrom H-Expander

Toutes les guitares Hagstrom sont équipées de la tige de renfort brevetée révolutionnaire «H-Expander». Cette tige de renfort, incroyablement rigide et pourtant légère, garantit un confort de jeu et une stabilité du manche exceptionnels.

Resinator Wood

Resinator

Le Resinator™ est un matériau en bois composite d’une densité plus uniforme et d’une stabilité nettement plus grande que n’importe quel produit en bois. Ces caractéristiques éliminent le risque de «points morts» des touches en bois conventionnelles. Le Resinator™ se distingue par un son ciselé similaire à celui d’un ébène d’excellente qualité mais sans les problèmes liés à l’ébène. Il délivre un son stable et clair et ajoute des harmoniques plus hauts, offrant une définition unique à chaque note. Comme notre tige de renfort du manche H-Expander™, le Resinator™ contribue largement au fameux «son Hagstrom».

Hagstrom Guitars - Stockholm, Sweden.
Copyright © . All rights reserved.

Super Swede Bass

 A Classic Reborn

Hagstrom Super Swede Bass

One of Hagstrom’s last projects before their Swedish production stopped was a collaboration between their chief guitar designer Per-Åke Olsson and Rutger Gunnarsson, bassist for the Swedish super-group ABBA. This resulted in the Super Swede Bass, which was used by Rutger throughout ABBA’s final North American tour in September/October 1979. Only 364 of these basses were produced before Hagstrom ceased guitar production in Sweden, and over the years they’ve become a sought-after collector’s item.

Hagstrom’s original Super Swede bass had a neck-through design, a feature found typically on more expensive hand-crafted bass guitars. Neck-through basses offer unrestricted access to the highest frets since there is no heel needed to support the neck/body joint, and also tend to have more sustain than traditional set-neck or bolt-on instruments.

Super Swede Bass Re-Creation

Our new Super Swede Bass is an authentic re-creation of this historic model from 1980. A Resinator® fingerboard enhances the sustain of the neck-through design and contributes to the guitars articulate attack. Strings are anchored in place with individual saddles coupled directly to the single massive neck structure providing a foundation for long, piano-like sustain.

Hagstrom’s brand-new J-Quad quad-stacked humbuckers are introduced with the Super Swede Bass. We thought it appropriate to commemorate this historic design with our latest pickup innovation. The J-Quads combine low-noise performance with a broad support of the full tonal spectrum, and just a little extra emphasis on mids and lows for when that extra “growl” is needed.

Colors

Black Gloss
Black Gloss
Tobacco Sunburst
Tobacco Sunburst
Natural Mahogany
Natural Mahogany
Hagstrom Super Swede Bass Black Gloss
Black Gloss
Hagstrom Super Swede Bass Tobacco Sunburst
Tobacco Sunburst
Hagstrom Super Swede Bass Natural Mahogany
Natural Mahogany
 
Hagstrom fleur de lis

Rutger Gunnarsson, bassist for ABBA, worked with Hagstrom on the original Super Swede Bass design. He used the bass on ABBA’s 1980 tour of North America.

Super Swede Bass Specs

Body

  • Double Cutaway - Original 1980 Super Swede Bass Design
  • All Mahogany

Neck

  • Set Neck
  • Neck Through Body
  • Material: Mahogany
  • Truss Rod: H-Expander™
  • Deep “D” Profile
  • Radius: 15"

Fingerboard/Nut

  • Material: Resinator™
  • Nut: Graph Tech™ Black Tusq XL 40 mm nut
  • Fretboard: Resinator™ Fretboard
  • Inlays: Hagstrom Perloid Block Inlays
  • Frets: 20 Medium Jumbo
  • Tuning Keys: Hagstrom Design 22:1 Tuning Pegs
  • Scale Length: 34“ / 964 mm

Electronics

  • Pickups: 2 x Hagstrom Design J-Quad - quad-stacked Humbucker
  • Controls: 2 x Volume, 1 x Tone
  • Chrome Knobs

Parts

  • Bridge: Hagstrom Individual Adjustable Direct-Mount Saddles
  • Tuning Keys: Hagstrom Design 21:1 Tuning Pegs
  • Strings: D'Addario (55-105)

Optional Cases

  • Case B-70
  • Bag B-40

Super Swede Bass Standards

H-Expander

H-Expander

All Hagstrom electric guitars and basses include our patented H-Expander™ truss rod. Providing tension at both ends and running the entire length of the neck, the rigid yet light-weight alloy truss rod allows for a very low action and thin neck, two factors that were instrumental in earning Hagstrom its reputation as the world’s fastest playing guitar. The H-Expander™ truss rod not only provides ultimate neck stability, but it also contributes to Hagstrom’s unique tone.  Longer sustain and a round attack are some of the sonic characteristics the H-Expander™ adds to the tonal essence of Hagstrom.

Guitar Tuning Peg

Hagstrom Machine Heads

Hagstrom models use 18:1 or 15:1 gear ratio machine heads based on our own designs to insure accurate tuning. Viking® and HB series basses feature machine heads with a 17:1 gear ratio.

Resinator Wood

Resinator Wood

Resinator™ wood is a wood composite material that is both more uniform in density and more stable than any standard wood product. These characteristics eliminate dead spots or “wolf tones” sometimes associated with conventional wood fingerboards. Resinator™ wood has an articulate sound similar to high quality ebony, but without any of the problems associated with ebony. It provides a stable and clear tone, and also adds higher overtones and harmonics which uniquely detail each note. Like our H-Expander™ truss rod, Resinator™ wood is a major contributor to the distinctive “Hagstrom tone”.

Hagstrom Guitars - Stockholm, Sweden.
Copyright © . All rights reserved.